Organising & Scientific Committees


The Centre for Biomedical Ethics (CBmE), established in 2006 provides undergraduate and postgraduate education in medical ethics at the Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine, National University of Singapore (NUSmed), with major support from the Singapore Ministry of Health. Through the Clinical Ethics Network and Research Ethics Support Project (CENTRES), we hold ethics training seminars for healthcare professionals and are continuously raising the bar for clinical ethics engagement among members of the local hospital ethics committee network and the international community through its annual international clinical ethics conferences. The team at CBmE welcomes you to join us at ICCEC 2017.


From left to right: Dr G Owen Schaefer, Assoc Prof Jacqueline Chin (Chairperson),
Prof Alastair V Campbell, Ms Sumytra Menon, Assistant Prof Voo Teck Chuan
and Assoc Prof Anita Ho.



A/Prof Anita Ho

Centre for Biomedical Ethics, National University of Singapore (Co-Chair)

Prof. Marin Gillis
(United States)

Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine - ‎Florida International University (Co-Chair)

Prof. George Agich
(United States)

International Conference on Clinical Ethics Consultation, United States

Prof. Yali Cong

Peking University Health Science Center

Prof. Elizabeth de los Rios

Anahuac University

Dr. Amy DeBaets
(United States)

Oakland University William Beaumont School of Medicine

Mr. Kevin Dirksen
(United States)

Providence Center for Health Care Ethics

Dr. Carolyn Ells

McGill University

Dr. Véronique Fournier


Prof. Lynn Gillam

University of Melbourne

Prof. Richard Huxtable
(United Kingdom)

University of Bristol

Dr. Amar Jesani

Indian Journal of Medical Ethics

Prof. Roy Joseph

National University Hospital System, Singapore

Assistant Prof. Dr. Mustafa Volkan Kavas

Ankara University Faculty of Medicine, Department of History of Medicine and Ethics

Prof. Satoshi Kodama

Kyoto University

Prof. Shekhar Kumta
(Hong Kong)

The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Dr. Yonghui Ma

Xiamen University

Prof. Keymanthri Moodley (South Africa) Stellenbosch University

Prof. Stjepan Oreskovic

School of Medicine, University of Zagreb

Dr. Nneka Sederstrom
(United States)

Children's of Minnesota

Dr. Andrew Shuman
(United States)

University of Michigan

Prof. José Siqueira

Pontifícia Universidade Católica do Paraná (PUCPR)

Dr. Anne-Marie Slowther
(United Kingdom)

Warwick Medical School, University of Warwick

Prof. Michael Tai

Chungshan Medical University, Taiwan

Dr. Henk ten Have
(United States)

Center for Healthcare Ethics, Duquesne University, Pittsburgh

Prof. Yesim Isil Ulman
Istanbul Acibadem University School of Medicine

Dr. Teck Chuan Voo

Centre for Biomedical Ethics, National University of Singapore

Prof. Kristin Zeiler

Department of Thematic Studies: Tema Technology and Social Change, Sweden